Chapter History

Bookmark and Share Print this page

In the beginning...
The Dallas Chapter was chartered in February 1957 with 22 Active members and 43 Associate members. The following is a 1990s computer-generated re-creation of the original chapter charter from 1957:

Chapter Charter

The Dallas Chapter of The Construction Specifications Institute
Dallas, Texas - Granted February 16, 1957
The members of The Construction Specifications Institute named below, having complied with the by-laws governing the establishment of a Chapter, the Board of Directors of the Institute hereby constitutes and officially designates The Dallas Chapter as an affiliated Chapter of The Construction Specifications Institute This Chapter shall exercise all of the privileges granted to a Chapter under the by-laws of the Institute. By action of the Board of Directors of The Construction Specifications Institute February 16, 1957

Norman Hunter
  Harry C. Plummer

Active Members

Sam Biderman B. Royal Cantrell Chester H. Hewitt Lothar F. Riba
Russell C. Bowers Edward C. Davis William Daniel Kiebler Arthur E. Thomas
Thomas D. Broad Milton S. Fuqua Henry T.J. Martin Harley L. Tracey
Lavere Brooks Grayson Gill James N. MacCammon Roger L. Ward
Stanley Brown Leslie E. Hamilton Thomas J. Palm, Jr. Robert D. White
  Terrell R. Harper Fred N. Palmer, Jr.  

Associate Members

Arthur C. Bell William P. Dunne Joseph M. Kern Robert E. Russell
George Bock Rod D. Gambrell, Jr. Dale A. Lehr William H. Smith, Jr.
William J. Bole Davis Gomillion Vernon C. Liles Charles S. Strawn
Joseph Bonnett James Russell Gray Harry G. Lobsiger Ray B. Taylor
Percy L. Carpenter George H. Harmon, Jr. Norman H. Lueck Charles E. Terry
Garretson J. Creighton Julian C. Harris, Jr. William E. Matlack, Jr. Leo D. Volkmer
Robert E. Clayton Alfred P. Helm William F. Mulligan, Jr. Edward W. Walton
J.C. Davis A. Curtis Horn, Jr. Elmer L. Purtle James M. White
Edward D. Demetri Curtis O. Johnson Jack G. Putman Edwin A. Wolf, Jr.
Frank T. Dooley Howard E. Johnson Walter H. Roath Edwin J. Wright
Charles F. Drury Herbert M. Kahn John F. Rudin  

Also That Year...

  • Los Angeles adopts a revised building code in 1957 that permits construction of high-rise buildings.
  • The code reflects earthquake-stress engineering technology.
  • In 1957, the first annual convention is held in conjunction with the American Institute of Architects.
  • The Board reaffirms that in order to realize growth, it must have a long-range plan.
  • It establishes the Advance Planning Board, which later evolves into the Long Range Planning Committee.
  • In May 1957, the Construction Specifier introduces a new department, "Specifications Methods."
  • Annual subscriptions to the magazine are $5 for members and $10 for non-members.
  • In May, the magazine's editors decide tosend complimentary copies to trade organizations and schools.
  • The Institute also decides that the Specifier will begin to accept paid advertising.
  • In 1957, the Board redefines boundaries. It approves a nationwide zoning plan for CSI, establishing 12 regions.
  • A membership drive increases the ranks to 1,500 members.
  • As of June 1, dues are $12 per year.

Past Presidents...

1957-58 Henry T. J. Martin * 1986-87 Ronald A. Niemi, CCS
1958-59 Grayson D. Gill 1987-88 Paul L. Brunski, CCS
1959-60 Terrell R. Harper* 1988-89 Carl J. Agerbeck, CCS
1960-61 Edward C. Davis 1989-90 Don W. Fowler
1961-62 Joe L. Rich 1990-91 Richard C. Robinson, CCS
1962-63 Edward L. Wilson, Jr. 1991-92 Richard Lundstrom, CCS
1963-64 Charles O. Quade 1992-93 Ken Rowley, CCS*
1964-65 Royden Stanley Bair 1993-94 L.B. Parr
1965-66 Donald B. Kleinschmidt 1994-95 Ronald E. Marabito **
1966-67 John Seiler * 1995-96 Dennis J. DeLisse, CCCA
1967-68 Cole Smith 1996-97 Bennett Foster, CDT
1968-69 Norman W. Irion * 1997-98 John Young
1969-70 Zach E. Wilkinson, Jr. 1998-99 David R. Combs, CCS, CCCA
1970-71 Ronald E. Marabito ** 1999-00 John E. Gibson
1971-72 Jim C. Rivenbark * 2000-01 John W. Fox
1972-73 Robert S. Ekblad 2001-02 Frank Fuller**
1973-74 Weldon W. Nash, Jr. (P) 2002-03 Frank Fuller**
1974-75 Edwin J. Johnson 2003-04 Cynthia Belisle, CDT
1975-76 Tom C. Ott 2004-05 Daniel Hargreaves, CDT
1976-77 George L. Robinson 2005-06 Dennis Lally
1977-78 G. C. (Cam) McGill 2006-07 Paul Glenn, CCCA
1978-79 Jack W. Frost 2007-08 James Robbs
1979-80 Spencer A. Johnson 2008-09 Gary T. Yancy, CDT
1980-81 Jerry L. Halcomb 2009-10 Walter Scarborough, CCS, CCCA 
1981-82 Craig K. Haney, CCS 2010-11 Tom Atchison
1982-83 Douglas C. Hartman, CCS 2011-12  Chris Mundell
1983-84 David J. Brotman 2012-13  Kirby David
1984-85 James H. Stewart, Jr. 2013-14  Mike Deck
1985-86 Paul W. Simonsen 2014-15  Mike Kolman

* Deceased
** Two-time President
(P) Past President of the Institute

Learn more!